Wednesday, August 31, 2011

Catching up on photos

With my computer having a cold I haven't added any photos to my blog posts lately. I thought I'd do a "catch up" post with links to the photo sets on flickr and then those of you actually reading this who haven't seen the photos and need something to fill some time, would like to see them, then you can :0)

The adorable little one I live with and some of her with her mama in the pool having fun.

Florida, well, the few photos I've taken while a passenger in the car and when we were at the park.

I spent a few hours at the Magic Kingdom. We went for the re-opening of the Tiki Room and stayed for Memories, Magic, & You and for the fireworks.

We went to the park and I missed my best friend while I was wandering around taking the "creative" shots.

Well, that's it so far.

Tuesday, August 30, 2011

It's about time...

Today I FINALLY  got to use a camera at work :0)

The day started with "comp photo" known at Sea World as "front gate photo" but at Discovery Cove the guests actually WANT the photo 'cause it's free!!! Only had 1 couple say no, they don't "do" photos.

After that I got to go to the aviary. That was FUN!!!! The birds are beautiful and it's pretty much all candid photos. We will get some people asking us for photos, but it's mostly just us seeing them with a bird and taking the photo. They generally will pose for us after the 1st photo is taken.

Downside today? NONE of my photos actually went into guest files :0( Though I was VERY tempted to put a few of my bird photos into those files LOL

Next shift? I'm supposed to bring my "wet clothes" 'cause I'll be in the water :0) I'll start at the comp photos again and then in the river, 'resort pool', and possibly the Grand Reef where the sting rays are. Just trying to find different sandals 'cause my feet slide too much in the strappy Teva type style I have now. However, it's hard to find some in a price range I really feel comfortable spending. YES, I know, it's an investment and my feet will thank me for spending the money. But it's just hard to spend that much on shoes. Heck, I don't like spending that much on me for any type of clothing, and never have. Oh well, I'll figure something out LOL

I'm off again tomorrow. Not sure what I'm gonna do with my day. If I wake up early I might go walking/jogging since it seems to always be raining when we try to get out in the evening. That is if I wake up and actually get out of bed instead of snuggling deeper into the bed and going back to sleep!

Sunday, August 28, 2011

hi again

Well, I kind of slacked off on my blogging. After being in Florida for 3 weeks my body finally decided to say: what the heck? And I got sick. Mel looked at my throat and said that my tonsils were nasty, which would explain the sore throat LOL

Work had been going well. I've been working the "retail" portion this week, so I was at the main photo location doing sales. It's pretty easy. We do get slammed at the end of the day, or when there are thunderstorms and they clear all the pools for safety LOL

On Tuesday I have my 1st shift as a photographer. I'm hoping that means I will actually have a camera in my hands! Shifts are 7:15am-3:45pm. So I'll be leaving the house around 6:15...don't think I've EVER  left that early for a shift since I've been working for Sea World. But it's all good, means I'm home earlier :0)

We went to the park today with Elizabeth. I got some photos of her playing and took a few around the park itself. It's a cute park, and where the little one's 2nd birthday party will be in a few weeks.

Wandering around the park with my camera made me miss Autumn. I miss my camera buddy and our photo adventures. She went to Disneyland on Friday with lil' Audrey and sent me a few photos. I'm really hoping to be able to get a Disney pass for out here sometime soon. It's been hard being this close, I drive past the park exits every day for work, and not being able to go LOL I might go to Universal one weekday when I'm off though. Have Earl drop me off on his way to work 'cause parking is $20 and that's just crazy!!! I can get in free with my work ID, but we still have to pay parking LOL I also want to go over to Busch Gardens sometime soon, as well as try to save the money to get into MY park for the day, without doing the dolphin swim 'cause that's A LOT less, and then I can take photos to share with everyone :0)

Okay, that's it for now. Have a good week :0)

Friday, August 19, 2011

Finally!!!!!!!

Spent my first real day in MY park today!!! 8 hours of fun :0)

The 1st half of the day was spent in one of the cabanas where the guests go straight after their Dolphin Interaction, to view and order their photos. This is run pretty much just like Interaction Photo in San Diego, but DC has an upgraded program and it's AWESOME! The photographers come in, download the photos for their group and then the guests get to pick the ones of just them and it creates the file for them. They can then scroll through the photos (instead of having to go 1 by 1) and when it's time to order it's kind of like a drag and drop, where there are blank squares for how many photos go in their chosen package so they don't get quite so confused :0)

After lunch I went up to Adventure Photo (yup, all the parks have AP as their main photo location...makes it easy for me LOL). I was in "Production" which is in the back putting together all the photo packages that come through from the cabanas when the guests place their order. I think there were 20 printers, 2 CD towers, so...12 CDs can burn at a time, and 16 DVD drives. We do 6x8 prints & all the packages come with 1-4x6 and 2 key chains. The biggest package also gets a 'poster' size print, and those are really cool. Due to the lightening strike at the park on Tuesday (no worries, I wasn't there and the people who were effected are back to work, they were just a bit shaken up), one of the poster printers is fried, and ALL of the DVD drives crashed this afternoon. They think it's related to the lightening too, just a bit delayed. The photos print out and we have to read tiny numbers to make sure they get put together in the correct package.

One of the printers ran out of paper and I just started to change it. I called over the other person who was training today and showed him how to do it. Then I looked at the lady who was training us and apologized for doing the training, that it was just habit. She laughed and said it was okay, that it was actually good to know/see that I know what I'm doing and felt comfortable showing someone else.

I work again tomorrow. I think I'll be up front in the "retail" part of AP. It get REALLY crazy towards the end of the day 'cause people wait even though we tell them they can go after about an hour depending on what they are ordering. Then I have Sunday and Monday off. Next week I am working Tuesday through Saturday...all are 8 hour shifts :0) Though they will all be shifts similar to what I was doing today and will be doing tomorrow. It will be at least a week before I get to have a camera in my hands, or that's what the lady training me today said. They want to make sure we know the retail side because photo shifts can frequently end up at AP helping with either production or retail.

Okay, I've pretty much written a novel tonight and sadly, there are no photos to go with it. Not even cell phone photos 'cause our phones have to be in our locker, not even with us for the time LOL I bought a watch :0) Time to read for a bit, then it's off to bed. Good night and thanks for reading :0)

Sunday, August 14, 2011

Shocked myself!

And I don't mean with an electrical current!

Last night I went out "training" with Mel and Jen. We did 2 miles in 40 minutes with an interval of walking 5 minutes and JOGGING 30 seconds. Yes. I was jogging. It was only for 30 seconds at a time, but still, I was jogging. But what I think is the scariest part? I want to go again!!! :0) My back however, it didn't really like me much afterwards and decided to tighten up so much it was hard to get to sleep and was a bit stiff this morning. But I want to go again :0)

Went to church today. We sang: Every Move I Make and it made me feel like I was back with the high school youth group. It made me smile.

No new photos right now 'cause my computer decided to catch a virus, but the Vacation Family has a friend who can fix it for me.

It's nap time now :0)

Thursday, August 11, 2011

:0)

I got a library card yesterday :0)
The library is A LOT smaller than the one I'm used to, but I happily found books right away, so all is good. On the way to the library I saw this thing above me out of the corner of my eye. Yeah, it was a water plane LOL Cruising just above the trees, landed in the lake, and then took off again. It was pretty cool, but of course I didn't have my camera with me, and my phone wasn't quite gonna get it LOL I guess it's actually a pretty common occurrence, so I'll just have to watch for it again and catch a picture another time. I also need to get photos of the oak trees here that have moss growing on them, hanging down from the branches, they look SO cool.
That's all for now. I have my actual 1st day tomorrow. Connections Training...otherwise known as Company Orientation LOL uh, yeah, I transferred from the same company, but the last time I went through CO it was called Cornerstones and it was 4 years ago, so that's not too bad LOL

Tuesday, August 9, 2011

Note to self...

It's an automatic
There is no clutch
I do not need to shift

This will take some getting used to LOL I got it a sunshade, seat covers, & a steering wheel cover today. Was only going to get the steering wheel cover for now, but it made more sense to buy the box set with the seat covers too 'cause it made it quite a bit less. Now I just need to start working and getting a paycheck so that I can get to work and pay my bills!

Monday, August 8, 2011

Three firsts...kind of

Yesterday I went to church here for the 1st time. I went with Mel & Elizabeth and was very happy when they started playing songs that I knew and have been singing at FHPC for years. It just so happens that my 1st time at this church is the day their Pastor announces that he has accepted a call elsewhere. Time for changes for everyone it seems. It will take a bit getting used to a new church, especially after attending the same church for so many years, but I think I'm going to like it. However, I will still be listening to the FHPC sermons online...too bad we don't include the worship on the recordings LOL

After church I experienced my 1st real taste of "Southern Food". Mel's family was laughing at me because I needed a tour guide of the buffet line to know what I was looking at and to know what I wanted to eat, or to avoid. I have fallen in love with fried green tomatoes...they are tasty!!! And I avoided the collard greens LOL Overall, I truly enjoyed the meal.

Then today was my "1st" day of work. But not really it ended up. I was at Human Resources for my meeting at 9am, and was walking across the street to spend the rest of the day "killing time" at Sea World by 9:20am. I signed 3 papers. I 'ordered' my uniform. I got my training schedule. That's it. I now have until Friday before I go in for training, and then again on Wednesday and Thursday. Friday will be what used to be "Cornerstones", I forget what we are calling it now LOL and a tour of Discovery Cove. Then I will have department training for Merchandise, followed by photo training (that could be interesting to see what they say), and then the last day of training is "cash handling" or register training. Yeah, I may need copious amounts of coffee or super cold water to keep me awake! On Thursday (next week) I should be getting my actual schedule. I'm looking forward to the park tour and to actually start working, especially since that will me I will start getting paid!

Tomorrow I go get my car. I know I can get to and from work okay, it's just if I can get from the car lot to the house that I'm worried about LOL There are multiple ways to get EVERYWHERE in this small town and I've been turned around every which way. It will definitely be an adventure :0)

Saturday, August 6, 2011

4 full days...

I have been in Florida for 4 full days now. Still getting used to the humidity, the heat is pretty much the same as a hot day back in San Diego, but the humidity? That's a completely different beast!!!

So, what have I done in the past 4 days?
1. Wednesday. I unpacked and just relaxed at the house.
2. Thursday. I spent the day at Sea World Orlando with my friend Carolyn and her son John. It was my 1st real test of being outside and doing more than watching the dogs pee. LOL here is the full set of photos on flickr, but i'll also add a collage at the bottom of this post with a few of them.
3. Friday. Another day of relaxing and trying to get used to the time change. We also headed over to The Boardwalk and everyone went running while I took Elizabeth in her stroller and walked. It was raining, but it was a nice walk. We went around the lake in front of the Beach Club & Yacht Club resorts, and past the path that is the International Gateway into EPCOT. We then had dinner at ESPN, I had a tasty Turkey, Brie, and Cranberry mayo sandwich. Then I couldn't sleep...finally fell asleep around 2:15am (blech) and was awake at 7am.
4. Saturday. Today. We went car shopping and have found me a car :0) I'll be able to pick it up on Monday or Tuesday once we get the money for my deposit and I have figured out where I'm getting my insurance from.

Tomorrow I'm going to church with Mel and Elizabeth. Mel is excited for me to go, and I'm looking forward to it. Really hoping it's a "good fit" 'cause I don't want to go church shopping. I know I have to avoid trying to compare it to FHPC! And that will probably be difficult since it was home for so long.

One more day until I start work. I have no idea exactly what my 1st day will include or how long it will be. I called the HR person I'm meeting with yesterday and she didn't call me back. So I think I'm taking different pants to change into in case I'm done early and then I'll go across the street to Sea World to wait for my ride since I won't have my car yet and I'm carpooling. I will definitely do another post after my 1st day, well, unless it's just a boring day of paperwork and training LOL

Now...for the pictures...



Tuesday, August 2, 2011

FLORIDA!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Long day, but a VERY good day! Flight from San Diego to Denver was uneventful, but included an awesome view of the Grand Canyon and Monument Valley. However I hadn't thought to put my phone in "airplane mode" so I didn't take any photos (yes, the photographer failed). I got off the plane in Denver and found Jeeper waiting for me :0) A quick hi and goodbye as he set off to LA. Had about an hour wait, and then boarded my second flight, Denver to Orlando. Again, uneventful...this is the best way to fly! The sky was clear for most of the cross-county trip, so I got to see a lot of ground.

I took a few photos, they'll get posted in the next few days.

Arriving at the airport I got my luggage and then headed out to wait for the ride home...drinking the air will take a bit of getting used to LOL We got to the house and when I got out of the car my glasses fogged up :0)

I am a happy girl! I've got amazing people who have welcomed me into their home, with a little girl who snuggled up on the couch, 2 dogs who just want love, and a cat. Yeah, we'll just avoid the cat LOL

It's technically only 7:30pm for the time schedule I should be on, but the clock I'm looking at says 10:33. With only getting 2 hours of sleep last night, I'm almost ready for bed!

2:30am

Yep, it's 2:30am and I'm still awake. At this point I'm thinking I'll just stay awake and then maybe I'll sleep on the plane. We are leaving the house around 6am, I want to make sure I have more than enough time. I don't fly enough to leave closer to my flight time of 8:24am.

Mom and I took a drive up through our local mountains today. It was BEAUTIFUL! The sky was crystal blue, clean of any smog because of an afternoon rain shower the day before, and there were big fluffy clouds. I took photos, and would post them here as I usually do, however I happened to delete them after I uploaded them to flickr...so this time you get to go on a field trip if you want to see the photos from our drive LOL

Friday included a trip to the zoo with Autumn and Audrey. I took more photos of that baby girl than I did of any of the animals LOL she's just so sweet and beautiful. It was a perfect day. I loved spending it with my best friend doing one of the things we did so frequently...playing tourist in our home town! That's one of the things I'm going to miss most, our tourist, photo adventures...well, those and our Disneyland trips.

I also got to see Lawrenn again on Friday and she cooked me dinner. We just talked and enjoyed being together and played a round of BananaGrams. Goodness that game is fun!

Tonight my sister came over and we went to Outback for a bit and then settled in on my bed to watch Disney's Robin Hood. We both fell asleep LOL

Speaking of sleep, I really should try to get some. I just keep thinking there's more that I need to do. Actually, I know there is...there's stuff under my bed still, but it's just a bit too difficult to get to it. I think it's just some books and random papers that drifted under there with the parts to my old bed.

My car has not been sold. Not quite sure how that's going to work out or how I'm going to get a car when I get to Florida as I was planning on using the money from this one to purchase the next.

Okay, now I'm just rambling.

Goodnight. I'll say Goodbye to San Diego in this post as well (my computer can be a pain to use in public since it only works when it's plugged in, so no airport posts).

Next stop...new adventures in Florida!

Monday, August 1, 2011

Almost there

Everything is pretty much packed. Car is still here. Almost sold it, but the bank is still listed on the registration, I didn't realize it was still there until last month. I can't find my title & to get it replaced (or change the registration) it takes 2 weeks. Not sure what I'm going to do, I need the money from selling the car so I can get one in Florida. I guess something had to go wrong...everything had been going too smoothly. Too perfect.

Most of my boxes are gone. The furniture is still here. Pretty much, I'm done! There are just a few last things,mostly going into the trash. And multiple trips to the dumpster.


Yesterday I started feeling kinda strange...I'm pretty sure it's a combination of excitement & nervousness. Stomach is all squirrely and I've had a killer headache since the car sale fell through. Was awake at 4am today, stayed in bed until 5am trying to get back to sleep but finally gave up & decided to take some pictures of my bedroom and write this new blog post since it had been a few days.

Today mom and I are going to drive up to Julian, we may or may stop there, but I want to do one more mountain drive since there are NO mountains in Florida LOL but now I'm going to try and take a nap. Napping at 6am? Crazy!